Fitch cuts Cameroon to B-, the 2033 eurobond hits a record 10.65%, Yaoundé has yet to ask the IMF for a program, and the Constitutional Council gets a new chief.
​
Kilwa
​
​
Kilwa CameroonFriday, October 23, 2026
Vol. 1 · No. 3 · Week 43
Free edition · The weekly briefing · Politics · Markets · Policy · 13 min read
Fitch put a price on Cameroon's empty succession seat

Fitch cuts Cameroon to B-, the 2033 eurobond hits a record 10.65%, Yaoundé has yet to ask the IMF for a program, and the Constitutional Council gets a new chief.

In this edition
01Fitch cuts Cameroon to B- and the 2033 eurobond hits a record yield
02The 2027 budget counts on IMF money nobody has asked for
03A new Constitutional Council chief, but still no election calendar
04A Paris court keeps €17.8m frozen, foreign banks want guarantees
05Deaths in Foumban and the North-West, a new Anglophone peace platform
The week in numbers
10.65%
Record yield on the 2033 eurobond, Oct 19
Bloomberg via EcoMatin
7.3%
Gross financing needs as a share of GDP in 2026, per Fitch
Fitch via Sika Finance
300bn
FCFA of 2027 budget support that depends on an IMF deal
Investir au Cameroun
€17.8m
Sums owed to the state held under a Paris seizure
EcoMatin, Financial Afrik
Where the news happened
4 of 10 regions made the news this week. Numbers match the stories.
CentreYaoundé: Fitch downgrade, the 2027 budget gap, Constitutional Council decrees, MRC convention010203
LittoralDouala: EU, French and US Senate staff visits to the port04
WestFoumban: gendarme clash with motorbike-taxi riders leaves at least one dead05
North-WestMelim, Ngoketunjia: army reports five separatists killed05
Across the border
Paris, FranceCourt keeps a €17.8 million seizure of sums owed to Cameroon04
Republic of CongoBloomberg says Cameroon now pays more than lower-rated Congo to borrow in dollars01

The week in one paragraph

A rating agency said out loud this week what Cameroon's politics has left unsaid. Fitch cut the sovereign to B- on Oct 16 and named the vacant vice-presidency as a core risk. The same day, presidential decrees filled the Constitutional Council, the body that would rule on any vacancy at the top. Bond investors pushed the 2033 eurobond to a record yield just as Yaoundé prepares to sell $300 million more of it, and the 2027 budget leans on 300 billion francs of support that only an International Monetary Fund (IMF) deal would unlock. Yaoundé has not asked for one. Abroad, a Paris court let a creditor keep €17.8 million owed to the state. At home, a deadly night in Foumban and army raids in the North-West kept the costs of insecurity local.

The Kilwa Research team, reading sources in French and English.

01
Ratings and markets · Yaoundé
Includes reporting first carried in French
Fitch's downgrade puts a price on Cameroon's empty succession seat

What happened. Fitch cut Cameroon's long-term foreign-currency rating to B- from B on Oct 16, with a stable outlook, and lowered the country ceiling to B from B+, according to EcoMatin, Sika Finance and camer.be. Fitch named the risk of a "disorderly transition" and noted that the vice-presidency created by the April 2026 constitutional reform is still vacant. It also flagged money: gross financing needs rise to 7.3% of GDP in 2026 from 5% in 2025, and Fitch expects no IMF program over its forecast horizon.

Why it matters. Bond buyers moved first. Bloomberg data cited by EcoMatin put the 2033 eurobond at a record 10.65% on Oct 19, up nearly 30 basis points and the fourth straight session of increases, with the 2031 bond at 10%. When Yaoundé announced a $300 million reopening of that same 2033 bond on Oct 6, EcoMatin put its yield near 10.1%. The tap is announced, not priced, and it now has to clear more than half a point wider. Bloomberg reports Cameroon now pays more to borrow in dollars than lower-rated Republic of Congo. Fitch now sits level with S&P at B-, one notch above Moody's Caa1. The lower country ceiling caps the ratings Fitch can give Cameroonian banks and companies. New buyers of the tap would collect the higher yield, while holders of the roughly $1.7 billion of 2031 and 2033 notes take the price loss. Because the CFA franc is pegged to the euro, the state's dollar debt service also moves with the euro-dollar rate.

The view from Yaoundé. The government had not commented on the rating by Oct 23 in the state daily Cameroon Tribune. On Oct 16, civil cabinet director Samuel Mvondo Ayolo told Jeune Afrique, as quoted by camer.be, that the president "is well and he is working," answering a death rumor posted online. Fitch says a clearer succession process or better access to cheap concessional money could lift the rating, and political instability could cut it again.
Sources: EcoMatin (French), Sika Finance (French), camer.be (French), Financial Afrik (French), EcoMatin on the tap (French), Briefs Finance citing Bloomberg. Fitch statements are as these outlets reported them. The Congo comparison is Bloomberg reporting, single-sourced.

02
Public finance · Yaoundé
Includes reporting first carried in French
The 2027 budget counts on IMF money that Yaoundé has not asked for

Finance minister Louis-Paul Motaze said Cameroon has not formally opened talks on a new IMF program. "We are waiting for their reaction to start discussions," he told Investir au Cameroun after the IMF and World Bank annual meetings in Bangkok. Yet the 2027-2029 medium-term budget framework counts on 300 billion francs of budget support in 2027 that depends on an IMF deal. That is about 9.5% of the 3,161.5 billion francs Cameroon must finance next year.

The gap matters because borrowing at home is getting harder. Fitch notes that banks' claims on the states of the Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC) rose from about 10% of bank assets in 2015 to nearly 30% in 2025. The presidential budget circular of Oct 12 sets a 2027 deficit target of 2.7% of GDP. An unnamed source told Investir au Cameroun the IMF wants CEMAC deficits at or below 1.5% of GDP in 2027, which no IMF document confirms. If the support never arrives, the first to wait are the state's suppliers: payables including arrears stood at 703.5 billion francs at the end of June.

Fitch sees Cameroon's gross financing needs jumping by almost half in 2026
2025
​5.0% of GDP
2026
​7.3% of GDP
2027
​6.5% of GDP
Source: Fitch, Oct 16, as reported by Sika Finance and EcoMatin. 2026 and 2027 are Fitch forecasts. Bars start at zero.
Sources: Investir au Cameroun (French), on the 2027 budget (French), Sika Finance on Fitch (French), CAA figures via EcoMatin. The 1.5% condition is single-sourced and unconfirmed.

03
Politics · Yaoundé
Includes reporting first carried in French
Biya filled the court that certifies elections, but the calendar for those elections is still blank

Presidential decrees 2026/333 and 2026/334, dated Oct 16 and listed on prc.cm, name a new president and two members of the Constitutional Council. Journal du Cameroun and KOACI report the new president is Rémy Nama, a magistrate who has worked at the Presidency since 1994. He replaces Clément Atangana, who died on Oct 4. Abdoulaye Daouda is one of the two new members. No source we read names the other. The appointees still have to be sworn in before Parliament.

The Council settles election disputes and would rule on any vacancy of the presidency. MPs' extended mandate ends on Dec 20, yet no decree convening voters has appeared. One analyst writing in camer.be puts the legal window for that decree at Nov 2-9, his own reading and not an official date. The opposition is regrouping meanwhile. On Oct 17 the Cameroon Renaissance Movement (MRC) elected Tiriane Balbine Noah, its first woman president, with 1,246 of 1,286 votes, per Journal du Cameroun. The territorial administration ministry has yet to acknowledge the result, and expelled member Willy Mengue disputes the quorum.

Sources: prc.cm decree list, Journal du Cameroun (French), KOACI (French), Journal du Cameroun on the MRC (French), camer.be (French). Decree texts were not readable, so names are press-reported. Vote figures are party-stated.

04
Finance and courts · Douala and Paris
Includes reporting first carried in French
A Paris court kept €17.8 million of Cameroon's money frozen as foreign banks ask for guarantees

On Oct 5 the Paris judicial court refused to lift a seizure of €17.8 million, about 11.7 billion francs, of sums a French company owes the Cameroonian state, EcoMatin and Financial Afrik reported on Oct 21. The creditor, CFS 37 Funding LP, holds a 2021 arbitration award won by the Garoubé pilot project. The ruling can be appealed. It shows creditors can reach state receivables abroad just as Yaoundé prepares to return to the eurobond market.

Trade finance shows the same caution. On Oct 21 the African Development Bank (AfDB) approved a €40 million package for AFG Bank Cameroun: a €30 million credit line and a €10 million guarantee covering up to 100% of the risk on some trade deals, designed to help foreign banks confirm the bank's letters of credit, per Investir au Cameroun. When a confirming bank wants a development lender behind a Cameroonian letter of credit, importers pay in fees and time. On Oct 21-22 the EU and French ambassadors and a US Senate Foreign Relations Committee staff delegation toured Douala port, which seeks partners for its Manoka deep-water extension. Business in Cameroon reported no financing commitment.

€17.8m
Sums owed to the state in France held under the Garoubé seizure, Paris ruling of Oct 5

05
Security and society · Foumban and the North-West
Includes reporting first carried in French
A deadly night in Foumban and army raids in the North-West keep the costs of insecurity local

In Foumban, in the West region, a clash between gendarmes and motorbike-taxi riders on the night of Oct 17-18 left at least one man dead from a stray bullet and at least four injured, Journal du Cameroun reported. Opposition UDC lawmaker Koupit Adamou said on Vision 4 that two of the injured later died, which is unconfirmed. Foumban mayor Patricia Tomaino Ndam Njoya called for an inquiry. The gendarmerie has published no statement.

In the North-West, the army said its rapid intervention battalion killed five separatists at Melim in Ngoketunjia division, an account no independent source has confirmed. In the Anglophone regions, a ten-member college of convenors launched a People's Consultative Conference seeking a "permanent solution" to the conflict, with a physical conference planned for early 2027, Cameroon News Agency reported. We found no Far North incident dated this week in French, Arabic or Fulfulde sources. That reflects thin coverage, not proof of calm.

Sources: Journal du Cameroun (French), Cameroon News Agency. Casualty figures are as reported by the outlet, a lawmaker and the army, none independently confirmed.

​
Who's who this week
The people behind this week's stories.

Paul Biya · President of the Republic
Signed the Oct 16 decrees filling the Constitutional Council 03

Louis-Paul Motaze · Minister of finance
Said Cameroon is waiting on the IMF before opening program talks 02

Rémy Nama · New president, Constitutional Council
Named by decree on Oct 16 to replace Clément Atangana 03

Abdoulaye Daouda · New member, Constitutional Council
One of two members named on Oct 16 03

Tiriane Balbine Noah · President, MRC
Elected the opposition party's first woman leader on Oct 17 03

Samuel Mvondo Ayolo · Director of the civil cabinet
Told Jeune Afrique the president is well and working 01

Patricia Tomaino Ndam Njoya · Mayor of Foumban, UDC president
Called for an inquiry into the Foumban shooting 05

Joseph Dion Ngute · Prime minister
Relaunched the Cameroon Business Forum in Douala  Briefs

One number
703.5bn
FCFA of payables including arrears owed by the state at the end of June. Files for the audit of 2020-2025 arrears are due on Oct 31.
Source: CAA debt office via EcoMatin, Oct 19
​
Quick hits
Politics

■  Interpol's president was received at Unity Palace on Oct 19 by Secretary General of the Presidency Ferdinand Ngoh Ngoh on behalf of President Paul Biya (Journal du Cameroun).

■  Camer.be, citing Jeune Afrique, reports the president summoned defense minister Joseph Beti Assomo over alleged contacts with jailed businessman Jean-Pierre Amougou Belinga in the Martinez Zogo case. Single-sourced, no official reason published.

■  Parliament opens its budget session on Nov 10, with the 2027 finance bill on the agenda (Journal du Cameroun).

■  The UN Human Rights Committee reviewed Cameroon in Geneva on Oct 22-23 (CCPR Centre). Its findings are due after the session closes on Nov 6.

Economy and markets

■  The 2027 budget again sets aside 84 billion francs for VAT refunds to exporters, yet only 49 billion was paid in 2025 against the same envelope, so exporters keep financing the gap (Investir au Cameroun).

■  Cocoa's export price at Douala fell to 3,220 francs a kilo on Oct 21 from 3,362 on Oct 15, while exporters held buying prices at 2,700-2,800 (ONCC data via Investir au Cameroun).

■  BGFI Holding's second IPO phase, seeking 80.6 billion francs on the regional exchange BVMAC, was oversubscribed after a first phase covered at 36% (Investir au Cameroun).

Business and deals

■  Prime minister Joseph Dion Ngute relaunched the Cameroon Business Forum in Douala on Oct 21 after six years without a session (Financial Afrik).

■  Electricity company Socadel tendered 52.6 billion francs of fuel for its thermal plants, with bids due Nov 3 (Investir au Cameroun).

■  Australian miner Tusker Minerals bought two Cameroon rutile explorers from a vendor whose board includes Tusker's own chief executive, Business in Cameroon reported from company filings. The outlet alleges no wrongdoing, and the vendor's owners are not disclosed.

CEMAC region

■  The Central African States Development Bank (BDEAC) raised $222 million, about 130 billion francs, in its first international bond, at 7.88% due October 2029, with the Africa Finance Corporation as anchor (Agence Ecofin). The outlet's description of the currency is inconsistent.

■  Five old coin series of the Bank of Central African States (BEAC) stop being legal for payments on Nov 1. Banks exchange them free until Jul 31, 2027 (Investir au Cameroun).

Health

■  Health minister Malachie Manaouda said Cameroon has recorded no suspected Ebola case after Nigeria confirmed one on Oct 20 (Journal du Cameroun).

For investors & operators ↓
The numbers, deals and dates behind the week.
​
Markets & macro
IndicatorLatestContext
Rating and eurobondsB- · B- · Caa1Fitch, S&P, Moody's. Fitch cut Oct 16, all stable. 2033 bond at a record 10.65% on Oct 19 (Bloomberg)
BEAC policy rate4.50%Held Sep 28, no meeting in the window
Inflation3.4%July, year on year, up from 3.0% in June (INS)
Gross financing needs7.3% of GDP2026, up from 5% in 2025 (Fitch)
Public debt44.7% of GDPEnd of March 2026, 2027-2029 budget framework
2027 deficit target2.7% of GDPPresidential budget circular, Oct 12
10-year domestic yieldabout 9.6%July 2026 BEAC curve, against about 13.4% for Congo
CEMAC reserves4.53 monthsOf imports, 2026 forecast, BEAC, Sep 28
Sources: Fitch via EcoMatin, Sika Finance and camer.be, Bloomberg via EcoMatin, S&P via cameroun24, Moody's via Daba Finance, BEAC via Journal du Cameroun and EcoMatin, INS, Investir au Cameroun. The CFA franc is pegged to the euro.
Terms in this edition

BEAC Bank of Central African States, the central bank Cameroon shares with five CEMAC neighbors · CEMAC Central African Economic and Monetary Community: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon · IMF International Monetary Fund · AfDB African Development Bank · BDEAC Central African States Development Bank, the region's development lender · BVMAC Central African regional stock exchange · CAA Caisse Autonome d'Amortissement, Cameroon's public debt management office · MRC Cameroon Renaissance Movement, an opposition party

​
Chart of the week
At home, Cameroon still borrows far more cheaply than Congo
Congo
​13.4%
Cameroon
​9.6%
Gabon
​7.2%
Source: BEAC 10-year yield curves for July 2026, via EcoMatin, Oct 22. Approximate values. Bars start at zero.

In dollars, Bloomberg says Cameroon now pays more than Congo. In francs, regional lenders still charge Cameroon about four points less. The succession risk Fitch flagged is being priced abroad first.

​
Deals, policy & regulatory watch

■  Eurobond tap. The $300 million reopening of the 8.875% 2033 bond, announced Oct 6 with Standard Chartered as arranger, has no reported price or settlement date (EcoMatin). It remains a proposal until priced.

■  Ratings. Fitch B-, stable, country ceiling B (Oct 16). S&P B-, stable (Sep 18). Moody's Caa1, stable (Aug 21). No other action in the week.

■  AfDB. €40 million for AFG Bank Cameroun approved Oct 21. Disbursement terms are not published.

■  IsDB. The 139.2 billion franc Islamic Development Bank loan for the Douala-Bafoussam road was signed in Bangkok on Oct 13, over 20 years with five years of grace (Investir au Cameroun). The repayment currency is not stated.

■  Garoubé. The Oct 5 Paris ruling can be appealed. No appeal has been reported.

​
The weeks ahead
Oct 31Domestic arrears audit: files due + Calendar
Nov 1Old BEAC coin series stop being legal tender + Calendar
Nov 3Socadel thermal fuel tender closes + Calendar
Nov 6UN Human Rights Committee session closes, findings on Cameroon to follow + Calendar
Nov 9-17AFCON 2027 qualifier window, Cameroon plays in Group G with Namibia + Calendar
Nov 10Parliament's budget session opens, with the 2027 finance bill + Calendar
Nov 18-20Cameroon Investment Forum, Yaoundé + Calendar
DecemberMPs' mandate ends Dec 20, EU deforestation rules apply Dec 30
Quote of the week
“We are waiting for their reaction to start discussions.”
Louis-Paul Motaze, minister of finance, on the IMF, to Investir au Cameroun, Oct 21 (translated from French)
​
Last word

Prime minister Joseph Dion Ngute reopened the Cameroon Business Forum in Douala on Oct 21, the government's standing table with the private sector, after what Financial Afrik called six years of hibernation.

The timing fits the week. A state that must finance 3,161.5 billion francs next year is asking business to talk again. The investment forum in Yaoundé on Nov 18-20 will show whether talk turns into commitments.

​
Your verdict on this edition
One click tells us what to keep. Add a note if you want.

How useful was this week's Kilwa Cameroon?

Login or Subscribe to participate

Want the Kilwa read?
Kilwa Cameroon is free. Africa Signal Check, Kilwa's paid briefing on 54 African markets, adds the Kilwa read on every story, the condition that would prove it wrong, the dated catalyst and the full forward book every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, with every call graded in public.
Explore Africa Signal Check →

That's the week. Back next Friday. Reply to this email, we read everything. And if East Africa is on your radar, our sister edition Kilwa Rwanda publishes the same day.

Kilwa

Kilwa Cameroon · Friday, October 23, 2026 · Vol. 1 · No. 3 · Week 43

Follow Kilwa Cameroon on WhatsApp

Spot an error? Reply to this email. We correct the record in the next edition.

Kilwa Cameroon is produced by the Kilwa Research team from sources in French and English. Figures carry their source and date, and unconfirmed reports are labeled. We report only what identified bodies and outlets say about named people. Kilwa Technologies is a research and data company, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is investment, legal or tax advice. kilwa.io

​

Quick answers

Why did Fitch downgrade Cameroon in October 2026?

Fitch cut Cameroon to B- from B on Oct 16, 2026, with a stable outlook. It cited the risk of a disorderly political transition with the vice-presidency still vacant, and gross financing needs rising to 7.3% of GDP in 2026, as reported by EcoMatin and Sika Finance.

What is the yield on Cameroon's 2033 eurobond?

Bloomberg data cited by EcoMatin put it at a record 10.65% on Oct 19, 2026, up nearly 30 basis points.

Does Cameroon have an IMF program?

No. Finance minister Louis-Paul Motaze said in October 2026 that formal talks had not started, while the 2027 budget counts on 300 billion francs of support that depends on an IMF deal.

Who is the new president of Cameroon's Constitutional Council?

Rémy Nama, named by a presidential decree of Oct 16, 2026 to replace Clément Atangana, who died on Oct 4, according to Journal du Cameroun and KOACI.